James Starr Wins NTTC’s Inaugural Professional Driver of the Year Award

James Starr Wins NTTC’s Inaugural Professional Driver of the Year Award

ARLINGTON, Va., May 6, 2014 – James Starr, professional driver of Groendyke Transport, Inc., is the recipient of the first National Tank Truck Carriers (NTTC) Professional Driver of the Year award.  The champion receives the William A. Usher, Sr. trophy which was presented during NTTC’s 66th Annual Conference on April 28, 2014 in Las Vegas, Nevada.  The award recognizes an exemplary tank truck driver who serves the industry with the most reliable and safe transportation of liquid and dry bulk commodities.  The day-to-day role of a professional tank truck driver is one of the most challenging and demanding in all of trucking and the NTTC Board of Directors established this award to recognize the best of the best through this new recognition program.

A 42-year trucking veteran, Mr. Starr accepted the award graciously on stage amid seven other extremely qualified and experienced finalists.  The eight finalists were chosen based on accident-free miles, industry and company leadership, communication and public speaking ability, and overall industry knowledge. Mr. Starr is a petroleum and chemical driver for Groendyke Transport’s Wichita terminal and has accumulated an astonishing 3.5+ million accident-free miles during his 29-year career with the company.  He also serves as a certified driving instructor and in that capacity he devotes himself to mentoring trainees on the culture of safety, the moral obligation of safety, and the best defensive driving strategies on the road.

“Our champion Jim Starr represents the constant vigilance and dedication to safety that is embodied in the NTTC’s mission statement.  All eight finalists are authentic safety experts and represent the very best of our industry,” said NTTC Executive Committee Chairman Jim Shaeffer. “I had the privilege to meet Jim Starr earlier this year and I am confident that he will be a tremendous safety ambassador for the NTTC.  Our new program also complements our recent investment in the Trucking Moves America Forward initiative (www.truckingmovesamerica.com) and furthers our focus on safety and success in the tank truck industry.”

The NTTC Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year program is sponsored by Baldwin & Lyons, Inc. (B&L), a specialist in marketing and underwriting insurance for the transportation industry.  The champion will represent the NTTC at this year’s Indy 500 as B&L’s guest and he will designate a $2,500 charitable gift to the safety organization of his choosing.

The National Tank Truck Carriers, Inc. has represented the tank truck industry before Congress and various federal agencies for over 65 years.  NTTC membership consists of approximately 240 for-hire trucking companies that specialize in bulk transportation services by cargo tank throughout North America.  Additionally, the association represents over 300 associate members that include private fleets that operate tank trucks, cargo tank repair facilities, tractor manufacturers, tank trailer manufacturers, and other related tank truck equipment and services.


Megan Kmiotek
Manager of Membership Services
National Tank Truck Carriers, Inc.
(703) 838-1960