Emergency HOS Waivers Issued by Governors in Ten States to Address Fuel Shortages Amid Extreme Cold

Governors from ten states have issued emergency proclamations lasting through mid-February waiving federal hours-of-service requirements for truckers carrying fuel to avoid shortages and protect people from the extreme cold. These states include Alabama, Arkansas, Indiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, North Carolina, South Dakota and Tennessee.


Governor Ivey’s proclamation waives HOS requirements for 30 days from January 14 for truckers bringing emergency- or disaster-related supplies, goods, and services to assist with the extreme weather emergency. Read more here.


Governor Sanders issued an order waiving HOS requirements, valid through January 26. It applies to vehicles transporting heavy equipment, oversized loads, electrical power equipment, and essential goods to people, poultry, and livestock. These products include, but are not limited to, commodities, fuel, and feed. Read more here.


Governor Holcomb’s emergency order is valid through January 25. This waiver halts HOS regulations for truckers transporting propane gas used for heating homes, businesses, and schools throughout the state. Read more here.


Governor Reeves is waiving HOS regulations through January 30 for carriers transporting fuel and other essential goods. Read more here.


Governor Parson issued an executive order on January 11, providing a temporary suspension of regulations on maximum driving hours. This suspension applies to CMV operators transporting “residential heating fuel such as propane, natural gas, and heating oil” into and across the state of Missouri. This order expires on January 26 unless otherwise extended. Read more here.


Governor Pillen issued a 30-day HOS drive time waiver on January 12, applicable to “hauling residential heating fuel and oils or fuel used to generate power for residential heating into or within Nebraska.” Drivers must carry a copy of the state declaration to prove that they are operating in support of the state during the emergency. Read more here.


New York
Governor Hochul issued a HOS waiver lasting until February 11 to ensure that roadways can be cleared and utility workers can restore utility services. It is applicable for Allegany, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Ontario, Orleans, Oswego, Wyoming, and contiguous counties. Read more here.


North Carolina
Governor Cooper issued a temporary waiver for motor vehicle regulations, valid until February 8. It waives truck weight, size and hours of service restrictions so that vehicles carrying essential supplies such as food, medicine or fuel or transporting livestock and crops can get their jobs done quickly. Read more here.


South Dakota
Governor Noem lasts until February 11, allowing for the transportation of residential heating fuels within and into the state. She stated that “extremely low inventories and outages of residential heating fuels and the return of normal supply flows to fuel terminals in South Dakota is unknown.” Read more here.


Patrick Sheehan, the director of the Tennessee Emergency Management Agency, issued an HOS waiver for commercial motor vehicle operators who are providing fuels. This waiver includes fuel oil, diesel, gasoline, kerosene, propane, liquid petroleum, and other refined petroleum products, lasting through January 27. Read more here.


Additional rules and restrictions may apply. These declarations do not apply to the Interstate Highway System. NTTC will continue to monitor this emergency declaration and will broadcast updates when available.