FMCSA Issues Regional Emergency Declaration for 45+ States

On December 22, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration issued an emergency declaration in response to severe winter storms and high demand resulting in difficulty in obtaining the necessary heating fuel, including propane, natural gas, and heating oil. 

Affected jurisdictions included in this Emergency Declaration are as follows: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

Motor carriers and drivers providing direct assistance supporting emergency relief efforts transporting heating fuel, including propane, natural gas, and heating oil, into the affected areas (listed above) are granted emergency relief from 49 CFR § 395.3, maximum driving time for property-carrying vehicles. Additional restrictions and conditions apply. 

This Emergency Declaration is effective immediately and shall remain in effect until the end of the emergency or until 11:59 P.M. (ET), January 6, 2023, whichever is earlier. Additional details can be found here.

NTTC staff will continue to monitor these and other emergency declarations, and will broadcast updates when available.